June 2007 – Day one

I am in Tulsa, finally. I had a 30 hour journey door-to-door. I left Bromley before sunrise, got on the train at Grove Park into Charing Cross and then had a tube change to get to the Piccadilly line. I thought I was going to miss my flight. I got to Heathrow about 40 minutes before the departure time. Then I had a connection flight to Dallas Fort Worth in Houston and got there at 11pm local time, which meant 5am for me. Rocky was waiting for me there with his friend David and it took us another 5 hours to get to Tulsa. When we got here, I was so tired I didn’t take anything in.

Waking up this morning was a bit of a shock. It’s so hot and humid that it reminds me of West Africa. Even the sounds of the insects, the intensity of the rain and the smells are like Africa. I never imagined that. The other shock was realizing where I was. Rocky was very nice and told me to make myself at home… but this place is a tip! The guest room is stacked with stuff, floor to ceiling, you can’t even walk around the bed it’s so full. Old magazines, books, souvenirs from several lifetimes worth of hoarding. The rest of the house is just as full. This is going to take some getting used to! Obviously, Rocky doesn’t have much inclination towards domestic chores and his mum, Ruth, can’t do anything about it. I woke up before Rocky and kind of tip-toed my way through the living room past Ruth, who sits on a chair 24 hours a day. I couldn’t tell if she was awake or asleep. She didn’t say anything so I squeezed out. Outside the front door was a gathering of about 20 of the largest cockroaches I have ever seen. I can’t wait for the music to start.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

