June 2007 – about 3 weeks in

I feel like these last 3 weeks just flew by. On my very first night here in Tulsa I was a guest at Higher Education, a gig hosted by Jesse Aycock and Dustin Pittsley, who are younger guys, in their early 20s, I believe. And, since then, I don’t know how many gigs I played or how many I watched… I lost count. Probably about 3 per night. Rocky and I zoom around town in that little MG convertible of his. The weather is still shockingly hot and humid. He never gets tired, there’s always one more gig, always one more jam. I’m barely keeping up, I think I’m going to turn into a bottle of Corona soon. I just realized too that his 70th birthday is one day after I leave. I’m going to miss the old bugger.

Yesterday I also played with Tom Skinner’s Science Project for the second time. Those guys are different. The rest of the bands I’ve seen in Tulsa are more Blues based. None of them are pure Blues, but Blues based. I love that stuff but it’s not what I do. Every time Rocky gets me up to play as a guest I tend to feel that my stuff is too folky, too acoustic. But with Tom Skinner and Don Morris, I very much at home. They are songwriters and their sound is more acoustic, they are more about the songs, less about the groove and the licks. And they are also incredibly generous and encouraging. Their sound engineer, Glen, said something strange to me. He asked me “are you red dirt yet?” just before I was about to get up to play. I don’t really know what he was on about… but I’ll ask Rocky.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

